Access News Magazine
Your Number 1 Reliable Online Magazine in Nigeria

NASS Leadership: North-Central lawmakers reject APC consensus list


Senators-elect across the North-Central geopolitical zone from different political parties have rejected the zoning arrangements for the 10th National Assembly leadership positions announced by the All Progressives Congress (APC) on Monday.

The APC had in the zoning plans endorsed Godswill Akpabio from the South-South geopolitical zone as the President of the 10th Senate, while Barau Jibrin from the North-West was picked as his deputy.

Also in the House of Representatives, the APC endorsed Tajudeen Abass from the North-West as the Speaker and Benjamin Kalu from the South-East as Deputy Speaker.

The development forced the North-Central senators-elect to write an open letter to the National Chairman of the APC, Abdullahi Adamu, rejecting the zoning arrangements because it excluded their region.

The letter by the lawmakers-elect was titled, ‘Resolution of the North Central Caucus of the 10th Senate on NASS Leadership Zoning’.

The letter was signed by 18 senators-elect including Mohammed Musa (Niger East); Ashiru Oyelola (Kwara South); Sadiq Umar (Kwara North); Mustapha Saliu (Kwara Central) and Isah Jibrin (Kogi East).

Others are: Abba Moro (Benue South); Godiya Akwashiki (Nassarawa North); Ahmed Wadada (Nassarawa West); Ireti Kingibe (FCT); Sunday Steve (Kogi West); Ohere Abubakar (Kogi Central), and Peter Jiya (Niger South).

They also included Napoleon Bali (Plateau South); Mwadkion Davou (Plateau North); Diket Plang (Plateau Central); Mohammed O. Onawo (Nasarawa South); Emmanuel M. Udende (Benue East) and Titus Zam (Benue West).


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Verified by MonsterInsights